Lady Golfer of the Year Rules

2020 Ladies Golfer of the Year
Kindly Sponsored by Breda Barry


The points awarded for the Golfer of the Year competition are allocated for the Top 10 net scores in each of the designated competitions.

The events are:

–  All 18 Hole Competitions In Bearna Golf & Country Club held between July 3rd 2020 until September 27th 2020 inclusive.

–  Lady Captain’s Prize, Captain’s Prize to Ladies & President’s Prize (double points)

Points will be allocated as follows:

18 Hole Singles Competition (as above)

1st     12 points

2nd    10 points

3rd       8 points

4th to 10th: 7,6,5,4,3,2 and 1 point respectively

Please Note – there are no allocated points towards GOY for the winners/runners up of the ladies club singles matchplay.

The person with the highest number of points at the end of the year will be deemed to be the winner of Golfer of the Year. The winner will be awarded the GOY prize and will be entitled to park in the Ladies GOY parking space for the 2021 golf season.

In the event of a tie for first place an 18 Hole singles stableford competition will decide the winner.

Seniors – STAGS

STAGS – Senior Tuesday Alliance Golf Society


Captain – Noel Curran 087 261 6924

Treasurer – Terry O’Flanagan 087 961 1659

Secretary – Denis Kiely 085 103 5583

Tee Times

The Senior Men play each Tuesday with the first tee reserved as follows.

November – December            10:00 – 10:50

January – February                 10:00 – 10:50

  March – October                     9:32 – 10:28

Competitions are run over 9, 14 or 18 holes.

Annual Trip 2021

Annual away trip – TDB

Deposit of €50 required to secure your spot – Pay deposit directly to Noel Curran

Other Events

Annual 9 hole scramble with Ladies

Christmas Dinner – Golf, Dinner, Post dinner entertainment – A day not to be missed


Open to all Men affiliated to the Men’s Club who are 55 years of age or over

Annual subscription to STAGS is €10

Contact any of the officers for further details

Golfer of the Year standings as of March 3rd 2020

Denis Kiely                       34
Gareth Davies                  33
Noel Curran                      31
John Moore-O’Connor    31
Ray Ruane                         29

Standings are based on top 15 Stableford scores achieved during the calendar year. Any scores outside the top 15 are discarded for the the purposes of calculating the final GOY standings.

Handicapping System

Players initially play off their club handicap as and when they play their first event of the year.

For 18 Hole and 14 Hole competitions Handicaps cuts are :

Winner of each weekly competition – Handicap reduced by 2
Runner-up and Third place in each weekly competition – Handicap reduced by 1

At The Golf Club This Week

This Week’s Competitions


18 Hole Stableford – GOY

Friday July 3rd, Saturday July 4th & Sunday July 5th

Sponsored by GolfStyle


18 Hole Stableford 

Friday July 3rd, Saturday July 4th & Sunday July 5th

Sponsored by GolfStyle

See Local Rules regarding playing conditions

Sponsors 2019



We would welcome any sponsorship at any level.
The Committee Member’s dealing with Sponsors are
Tom Cunningham 087 255 0147 & Michelle Keenan 087 997 2652

Men’s 14 Hole Competitions – points deduction system

For the duration of the winter 14 hole competitions a points deduction system for prize winners will operate. These deductions are not permanent and your full handicap will be restored as you continue to play in the weekly events. The winner of a weekly competition will be deducted 2 points from his next 14 hole competition score and all other winners (eg second or third, fourth etc.) 1 point. As an incentive to prize winners, for each subsequent week that you play in the competitions and do not win a prize, penalties will reduced by 1 point until all penalties are rescinded. These are not official handicap deductions and only apply to the 14 hole winter competitions in Bearna Golf Club.

Starting on November 3rd 2019 the following score adjustments are in force.