If you mark, lift and clean your ball in the rough accidentally when it is only permitted on the fairway, what is the ruling?

At the moment we can lift, clean and place within 6 inches on grass cut to fairway height but if you accidentally lift the ball anywhere else in the general area you must replace the ball on the exact spot and add one penalty stroke to your score for the hole for lifting your ball in play when it is not permitted. The same rule applies if you lift, clean and place your ball inside a penalty area. Hopefully this will no longer be an issue when we play the ball as it lies as the weather improves as that is how golf is meant to be played after all! It is no longer compulsory to mark the position of the ball before you lift it when the preferred lies (placing) local rule is in play but it is best practice to do so to make sure you put the ball back correctly.

Comments are closed.