New Year Rules Quiz : Answers

 

Test your knowledge of the Rules of Golf, answer yes or no and the results will be posted in a few weeks.   Good Luck!

 

New Year Rules Quiz 2015

happy new year 2015

YES OR NO
1 A player may stand out of bounds to play a ball lying in bounds

See Definition of ‘Out of Bounds’

 Yes
2 In a match that should be played over 18 holes, can both players agree to play 14 holes and award the match to the player who is ahead at that point?

Players must play the stipulated round, Decision 2-1/4

 No
3 Can you remove an apple core lying beside your ball in a bunker before you play your shot?

It is a loose impediment (a natural object) and cannot be removed, Rule 13-4

 No
4  There is a penalty of one stroke if your ball strikes you or your equipment in stroke play and match play.

A one stroke penalty in stroke play is also a one stroke penalty in match play, Rule 19-2

 Yes
5 A player who started a round with 14 clubs lost her putter. May she replace it during the round?

A player must not start a round with more than fourteen clubs and is limited to the clubs thus selected for that round.   If she started with fewer that fourteen she may add any number provided the total does not exceed fourteen, Rule 4-4

 No
6 Can you remove an out of bounds white stake if it interferes with your shot?

An out of bounds stake is not an obstruction, it is deemed to be fixed – see Definition of Out of Bounds – so it cannot be moved before a player takes her shot, Rule 13-2

 No
7 During a round a player runs out of balls, may he borrow a ball from another player?

A player may not borrow a club from another player but may borrow other items of equipment like balls, towels and gloves, Decision 5-1/5

 Yes
8 Is there a penalty if a player signs the card where the marker should and the marker signs where the player should?

No penalty, Decision 6-6b/1

 No
9 Must alterations on a score card be initialled?

Nothing is laid down in the Rules of Golf as to how alterations should be made on a score card, Decision 6-6a/6

 No
10 A player has made an error in addition on her card, and returns a score one less than it should be. All the scores for each hole are correct, is she subject to penalty?

No.  The player’s responsibility is to record the correct score for each hole.   The Committee is responsible for the addition of scores,   Rule 6-6

 No
11 A player is disqualified from a handicap competition for failure to include her handicap on the card. Can she still win the gross prize?

Decision 33-1/13

 Yes
12 Can you ask your fellow competitor what club he used on the tee before you play your shot?

Rule 8-1

 No
13 A player is preparing to play a pitch shot from off the green.   Can she repair a pitch mark on her line of play on the green?

A player may repair damage to the putting green caused by the impact of a ball whether or not the player’s ball lies on the putting green, Rule 16-1

 Yes
14 In a match, one player leaves his putt short and taps the ball into the hole before his opponent whose turn it is plays. Is the player subject to penalty for playing out of turn?

There is no penalty for playing out of turn in match play.   However the opponent may immediately require the player to cancel the stroke so made and in correct order play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played, Rule 10-1

 No
15 Can you have the flagstick attended when your ball is off the green?

A player may have the flagstick attended, removed or held up to indicate the position of the hole from anywhere on the course, Rule 17-1

 Yes
16 Can a player touch grass in a hazard with his club during a practice swing?

You may not test the condition of a hazard, touch the ground in a hazard or water in a water hazard with your hand or club but a player may touch with a club or otherwise any grass, bush, tree or other growing thing at any time including at address or in the backward movement for the stroke.  See the Note to the Exceptions in Rule 13-4

 Yes
17 Is there a penalty for accidentally touching the sand in a bunker on the players back swing?

Rule 13-4, Ball in Hazard; Prohibited Actions

 Yes
18 You always have the option of returning to play a stroke under penalty of stroke and distance

At any time a player may under penalty of stroke and distance, play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played, Rule 27-1

 

 Yes
19 A player’s ball is lodged in a tree, he is able to identify it but cannot retrieve it. Is the ball lost?

Since the ball was identified it was not lost – see Definition of ‘Lost Ball’.   The player may invoke the unplayable ball rule, Decision 27/14

 No
20 You can declare a ball unplayable anywhere on the course except in a water hazard

Rule 28 and the player is the sole judge as to whether the ball is unplayable.

 Yes

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments are closed.