Ques;cion 1

A player is asked to lift her ball which lies just off the putting green as it is on her fellow players’ line
of play. She is allowed to clean the ball without penalty.

A-True
B - False

Explanation: When a ball is lifted from a part of the course other than a putting green because
it interferes with play, cleaning is not allowed (Rule 14.1c).

Question 2

A player's ball lies in a penalty area and she takes a practice swing in the penalty areq, grounding
her club in the process. What is the ruling?

A- The player gets the general penalty (two-strokes).
B - The player gets one penalty stroke.
C - There is no penalty.

Explanation: A player may ground his or her club anywhere in a penalty area without penalty
(Rule 17.1b).

Question 3

A player makes a practice swing and accidentally moves her ball in play on the fairway with her
club. What is the ruling?

A- There is no penalty but the player must replace the ball.
B - The player gets one penalty stroke and must replace the ball.

C - There is no penalty, but the movement of the ball counts as a stroke and the ball must be
played as it lies.

Explanation: If a player causes her ball in the general area to move without making a stroke there is
a one stroke penalty (Rule 9.4b).

_ Question 4

When out of bounds is defined by a white line, a ball is out of bounds when any part of it is touching
the out of bounds line.

A- False "
B-True ' -
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Explanation: A BALL (S LT OF BounNds WHEN ALL oF THE BALL 1S OB. THe LiNE
\TOELF 15 OUT OF BOUNDS. Sez DEFWTION of 0Ur of BoundS

Question 5
A player hits her shot out of bounds from the fc|rwc1y When dropping the ball under stroke and

distance, she must drop the ball as near as possible to the spot from where the last stroke was
made, no nearer the hole.



é A- False
B - True

Explanation: When dropping a ball under stroke and distance in the general areq, a ball is dropped
within one club-length of the point from which the previous stroke was made, but in the same area
of the course as that point.

Question 6

Without penalty, a player may remove leaves and twigs from a bunker when they are lying next to
her ball?

A- False
¢ B-True
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' Explanation: Loose impediments can now be moved in a bunker — but be careful not to move your
ball.

Question 7

Before playing her ball from long grass, a player moves some loose stones from around her ball. In
doing so she causes her ball to move. What is the ruling?

A- There is no penalty but the ball must be replaced.
B - The player gets two penalty strokes and the ball must be replaced.
s C-The player gets one penalty stroke and the ball must be replaced.

Explanation: As the player has caused his ball to move, he gets a penalty of one stroke and
must replace the ball.

Question 8

A player may place a club on the ground during the stroke to aid in alignment.
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A-True
¢ B-False

\‘Exp;lonotion: A player must not take a stance for the stroke using any object that was set down
by or for the player to help in lining up his or her feet or body, such as a club set
down on the ground to show the line of play. See Rule 10.2b(3).

Question 9

A player is about to play her approach shot to the green when she hears one long blast of a siren
from a nearby Rules Official. Which of the following is correct?

A - The player must finish out the hole, but should then go to the clubhouse.
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B - The player can choose to either stop play immediately or can finish out the hole.

|

¢ C - The player must stop play immediately and proceed to the nearest evacuation point.




Explanation: As one prolonged note of the siren is the signal for a dangerous situation, the player
must stop play immediately and proceed to the nearest evacuation point. The player must not
make another stroke until the Committee resumes play — Very important because firstly, it's for
your safety, and secondly, if you continue play after the siren, the penalty is disqualification!

Question 10

A player is entitled to free relief when her ball is embedded in the rough.
A- False
B - True

Explanation: Relief is available for a ball that is embedded in the general area (except when it is
embedded in sand in the general areq, or if interference by something other than the ball being
embedded makes the stroke clearly unreasonable).

Question 11

When taking relief from a sprinkler head on the fairway, a player drops a ball in the right way in her
relief area. The ball hits the ground first but then accidentally hits her foot before coming to rest in
the relief area. What is the ruling.

A- The player must drop the ball again.
B - The player must play the ball as it lies with no penalty.
C - The player must play the ball as it lies but gets one penalty stroke.

Explanation: A player has completed taking relief when a ball dropped in the right way comes

to rest in the relief area. It does not matter whether the ball, after hitting the ground, touches any
person, equipment or other outside influence before coming to rest. If the ball comes to rest in the
relief areq, the relief procedure is complete and the ball must be played as it lies.

Question 12

In stroke play, a player's ball lies on the putting green. Before playing her next stroke, she taps down
spike marks on her line of putt close to the hole. What is the ruling?

A- There is no penalty.
B - The player gets two penalty strokes.
C - The player gets one penalty stroke.

Explanation: Damage on the putting green, including spike marks, may be repaired
without penalty by taking reasonable actions to restore the putting green to its
original condition (Rule 13.1c).



